Sunday, September 21, 2008

Run Fat Girl, Run!

I have finally decided to challenge myself the way of physical fitness. I asked my husband to take me running and make me do it. Actually, I didn’t give myself very much credit because I really thought that I could only run from one mailbox, across the driveway to another mailbox and be out of breath. Well, I can do better than that. So, about three weeks ago we started this regimen… and I thought I was going to die! Here it is, 8 pm, and I am trying to mentally prepare myself to go at it again. All is fine until I’m about three minutes into it then, suddenly I have a lot of excuses not to run. First, it starts before I even hit the track. My shoes don’t seem to be made well enough to run in.
Then the other excuses begin to flood my mind:
“I think I’m getting sick…. Cough, sniff. I really should get some rest.”
“I’m not going to have enough time to take a shower before going to work.”
“I’m tired”
“I’m really not cut out for this.”
“I have to poop.”

Once I finally hit the track, things are fine for a little bit and then a whole new slew of excuses come in like a tsunami, this time urging me to stop and take it easy. First it starts with the inevitable… my boobs are bouncing too much. Ok let me just say this, I’m not a small girl, especially on top. When my body starts to gyrate up and down, so do other parts, especially the two bags of grapefruits on top. Also, exercise shorts and the slightest bit of thigh fat is a running disaster! I can’t seem to keep them out of my crotch. So, needless to say, I’m a little self-conscious about looking like a total dumb-ass, boobs everywhere and shorts giving me camel toe. Poor me.

Once I get beyond that then I reach a point that I can’t get passed: the pain. Oh, how awful! How in the world can anyone focus on running miles, let alone the couple of blocks that I go, feeling like someone is running a knife through their calves? Well, I can’t. Tommy keeps telling me to push beyond the pain. But it hurts so bad! There’s a terrible mental block that I have and I just don’t know how to get through it. My legs hurt and I can’t breathe. How can I go on? I want to stop and lay in the grass and not move until all the pain is gone. Now, mind you, people talk about this lovely pain in the side. They say that once you get passed that it’s smooth sailin’ and you can keep going forever. Well, folks, I haven’t even gotten to that point.

It gets discouraging at times but when I see that I have already lost almost 15 pounds, it’s hard to want to give up this time. This time I want to do it despite the pain. I know I won’t be able to run a marathon by next year. Shit, I can’t even run all the way around the ½ mile track that I frequent. But I will get there. Maybe. I hate to undercut myself, but speaking in the dimension of reality, I have run more in the last two weeks than I have my whole 29 years of living. Long distances aren’t coming quickly. Now, it’s just getting my mind onto other things and not thinking about the pain or how stupid I look. At least I can really say that I’m giving it my all and someday I will get there.

Monday, July 7, 2008

Welcome to grown-up hood

Welcome to the world of being an adult. I thought I was off to a great adulthood at 20 when I decided to brave the world on my own without the help or advice of my parents. I did great... sorta. I don't like being a grown, especially the financial part of it. Being a kid was great. I didn't have to worry about paying bills, buying a house, raising a kid or interest rates. Life was good. I never really knew my parents to be in very good financial standing but they always did what they could to provide for my brother and I. The most we had to worry about was maintaining grades and friends. Oh, how I miss the days.

My husband and I are now currently staring down the gun barrel of bankruptcy. Some think we will shoot ourselves in the feet and create a worse situation and some think that we are doing what's best for us. We've made mistakes and we are afraid to admit it, but we have also been hit with some unexpected stuff too.

We hadn't planned on having children for a couple of years but lo-and-behold, the birth control didn't work for whatever reason and nine months into our marriage, we were expecting. What an exciting time... a baby! We didn't know what we were in for. Luckily there were no hospital bills thanks to Medicaid. But, Tommy had to quit school so he could work more. Of course at the baby shower we got a bunch of clothes that were cute all right... but out of season. A friend gave us a crib and the in laws got us the stroller. We were on our own for every thing else. neither one of our parents or siblings really wanted to sink money into helping us provide for our bundle of joy, so we relied on credit cards to get what we needed. This was the best option considering that quitting school results in repayment of student loans.

In 2006 we got the itch to buy a house. Everyone was doing it and the professionals were telling us that a mortgage payment was so much better than paying rent. So we went for it. We fell in love with a little bungalow downtown. With all the renovations downtown, we thought it was a no-brainer. It's a 100 year old fixer-upper... move a couple walls, redo the kitchen and bathrooms, a couple coats of paint and we've flipped a house baby! Not so fast... we closed without a hitch. Started the clean-up project (since it was a rental) and found out that we'd have to gut the basement (it was nasty and not livable by our standards) and rewire the entire house. It's nice that the inspector missed some very important things like asbestos.
So we bought a money pit. We did what we needed to get in and spent a lot of money. We have also noticed that the foundation has a lovely sized crack around the whole parameter of the basement that causes the underneath of our house to turn into an Olympic size pool! (I should make some money off this) OK, that's an exaggeration, but there is a lot of water, every time it rains. We have already spent so much trying to fix it. We realize that by the time we put more money into fixing this nightmare abode, we will never make a return. We made a mistake. A mistake with the house, mistake with credit cards, bought a TV, and had 2 surgeries that insurance wouldn't pay over $4000. What else is there to do?

Just like most middle-classers, we are feeling the heat of rising gas prices and groceries. We make too much to get help on housing, day care, anything, but we are barely making enough to keep our heads above water. Thank you George Bush and all your wonderful Republican policies. Of course we aren't in recession because you and all your oil friends are doing fiiiinne!

It's bankruptcy. That's it... the only option. We've already cut back on groceries, entertainment, utilities and basic needs. There is nowhere else to cut. Also, my job is being threatened and I'm being forced to quit, which is a whole other story. The only jobs in this stupid town that are 8-5 and don't require a degree, don't pay much. So, I'm going from about $16 an hour to $8.

Am I a bad person? I don't think so. We made bad decisions and being a grown-up has kicked us in the ass. So, here we are, in the process of filing... letting the house go, getting a new job. I'm nervous and relieved at the same time. My husband feels horrible about it. I'm used to it. My parents have filed twice in my 28 years. Here we go living in a crumby duplex and shopping a dollar stores and riding our bikes more.

I'm ready for a fresh start. I'm so thankful that I live in a country that allows this. I'm not the most proud of it but don't feel defeated either. Good thing we're young. We've learned our lesson. A very valuable one. Don't take advantage of what you have and plan for the future no matter how easy or rough you thing it will be.

Monday, June 2, 2008

Is money the root of all evil?

Is money the root of all evil? I don't think so. In some cases we could consider ignorance or ego or selfishness to be the root that evil stems from. Sure, there are people out there that would do anything for money. Murder, prostitution, thievery and conning are some of the main things that come to mind when thinking of this subject. Of course these are all considered unacceptable behavior for most people in society but there is always another side of the coin to be looked at.
Let's take a moment and ponder some of the rich people in our modern culture. Warren Buffet, Bill Gates and Oprah are obviously the first few that come to mind. These three are well know all over the planet and are very wealthy according to Forbe's Magazine. But, guess what else they are good at? Philanthropy.

In 2000, Bill and Melinda Gates started a foundation out of Seattle, WA directed towards helping third world countries get health care and education. In 2006, the other richest guy in America, Warren Buffet, released a letter stating he planned on donating 85% of his fortune to the Gates' foundation. That fortune was worth a whopping 37.4 billion. These people believe that the life of every person in the world is of equal value and everyone deserves the right of health and education.

Buffet and Gates have been interviewed and on a few occasions asked about their inspiration. Both of these men are know to be non-religious. Some would even call them Atheists or Secular Humanists. Their inspiration comes from the goodness of their hearts. Then, there's Oprah. Need I say much? This woman has a heart of gold. She has one of the biggest money making empires and continues to give and give. According to her website, her two greatest achievements in philanthropy are her leadership girls school in South Africa and The Angel Network. The Angel Network does everything "From building homes with Habitat for Humanity to how 900 children celebrated their first Christmas..."

So, now the question is, since money isn't the root of all evil then, what is? Could it be ignorance? I look around me everyday and see how ignorance plays a role in chaos and confusion. People choose not to let themselves be educated. They hold up one particular belief but have never done the research or have evidence to back it up. They just believe what they do because they trust the people around them who hold the same belief system they do and thus create a whole chain of ignorant people. I see this in circles of religion, health and fitness, and politics.

What about the ego? Some could say that this is the root of all evil. Look at the last 100 years of wars. From Hitler and Stalin in WWII to Bin Laden and Kim Jung-Il today. These men are so full of themselves that they caused, and are feared to bring, calamity across the globe because of their personal beliefs. They want to eradicate nations from the face of the planet for not holding fast to their way of life. If that's not the epitome of ego I don't know what is?

Maybe it's selfishness. Some people just plain don't care about others. They live their lives day to day with only themselves in mind. I think of the people on the welfare system. Not the ones that really need to be on it, but the ones that are perfectly capable of getting and holding a job but don't because they don't want to. Our hard earned tax money goes to them so they can sit on their duffs and pop out crack babies. They not once think about the children they bring into the world or the people that sacrifice so they can live their lifestyles. I also think of absentee fathers. There are the guys that think it's cool to knock up as many women as they can only to create more children that cannot be loved, nurtured or nourished so they end up on the welfare system as well. I also think of the married fathers that have their lives so wrapped up in their work and reputation that being a father is a matter of money. They offer their money and that's all. The kids are lucky they can even get money out of them. What do these children from both circumstances grow up to be like? What kind of strain do they put on society because of the selfishness of another?

The question should be, "what is evil?" Evil is an opinion and should be looked at objectively and critically. What is evil in one culture or to one person may be acceptable to another. In our culture, it is unacceptable for a young, teenage girl to be married off to an older man. In other cultures this act is a way of life and sometimes a necessity to avoid be kidnapped and sold into prostitution or end up homeless. As we can see that having money or wanting to earn more doesn't make you an evil person. We can also see that there are many more things that root evil other than money. Evil is relative and is not black and white. Evil is a man-made idea based on what is considered good in other cultures and the polar opposite thereof. What's evil to you maybe fine with me.

But, maybe the greatest evil roots from just pure apathy; those that see evil around them and do nothing about it. Those that see others suffering and don't care. Maybe we can all look in the mirror and find the root of evil in ourselves.

"Science may have found a cure for most evils; but it has found no remedy for the worst of them all - the apathy of human beings." Helen Keller

Thursday, May 22, 2008

A Parable on Free-Will

Imagine you are out one night picking up a few staples at the grocery store. Since you decided to shop on a Tuesday night and rather late so there is hardly anyone at this local grocer. You check out your goods and head out to the parking lot. You put the groceries in the passenger side and head over to the other side to get in when suddenly something lunges out of the shadows and wraps his huge gloved arm around your neck and covers your mouth. You notice something sharp on the side of your neck, it's definately a knife.

You struggle with him for a minute but he is so strong. He takes his hand off your mouth but keeps his arm around your delicate neck. You ask "what can I do to keep my life? What do you want from me?"
He replies in a deep, soft voice "love me. Love me with all your heart. Don't just say it but believe it. Believe that I love you. If you don't, I will put my dagger through your neck and you will surely die."

You weigh the options; tell this creep you love him and act like you really believe it and run like hell OR have a dagger shoved into your artery. Hmmm.... Sounds like a no-brainer. He's not really leaving you with much of a choice. It's live or die. That's it. He won't compromise with conjugal visits or just handing over the wallet. Nope.

So you turn your head the best you can and look deep into his dark eyes and say "I love you. From the depths of my soul to the height of my being, I love you."

He releases his grip and says "You may go. Live your life. But if you ever stop loving me I will hunt you down and put a bullet in your heart."

You take this opportunity to run like the wind and call the authorities. He is later caught running naked through a park declaring he is Christ himself. You find out in the local newspaper the next day that he was a mental patient who had escaped the institution down the street earlier that day.

The moral of the story: there is no such thing as free-will. There is either 2 choices (a good and a bad) or lots of strings attached.

Sunday, May 18, 2008

Oh brain, where hast thou gone?

What ever happened to the human mind? Through the years our civilization has made strides and progressed through the swamps of ignorance. Why, in the year 2008 do we still have people that judge based on skin color? Why, after all the advances in science do people still have the intelligence of an ape? (Some apes are actually smarter than average Americans!) Why in the world have people stopped thinking? Where did the system go wrong? What generation put their fingers in their ears and said "lalala... I'm not listening to you"?

I am blown away when I hear people say they won't vote for Barack Obama because he's black. Well, first of all he only half black and second of all, why the hell does it matter? I have never been able to comprehend why in the world there has ever been racism. It's pigmentation in the skin... period. That's it! Ok, 100 years ago, fine. They were ignorant back then and really believed the white/ european was the ultimate human. Fine.... whatever. That was 100 freakin' years ago. What excuse do we have now? Blacks aren't and worse or better than whites or Latinos or anybody else on the planet of Earth. If you don't like someone because of their race... get the fuck over it. Grow up. Get a life!

Here's a good example. I work with a gentleman who is well into his 60's and is a pure bred Thai. He speaks english... with an accent. I can understand him. Everyone at work can understand him, but every once in a while I get some grumpy old guy that doesn't want to work with him because he can't understand anything other than redenck. Sigh... I hate to say it but sometimes I can't wait for that generation to die. Now before you get your panties in a wad, I'm not talking all of them. Just the racist ones that keep popping out racist babies.

There's no excuse. There will never be peace in the world when people continue to be nit picky over petty ideaologies. Our country will never progress ahead as long as people think we should do everything in accordance to a book written over 2000 years ago. Grow up America. Be better than the people in the middle east. Get over your hang ups.

And an ending note to all the minorities. Slavery has been abolished for well over a century. This country is not segregated any more. Hasn't been in about 40 plus years. Stop making excuses for not getting of your duff and getting a job and some damn birth control! My family came from Hungary. As far as I know, they did not have any African slaves. In fact an Asian came and took over my country a long ass time ago. I don't use that excuse to not live my life to it's best potential. To the Mexicans... I'm sorry. I've been to your country. I've seen your little children dig through a land fill for any scrap of food or anything to sell for food. I've been to your villas of houses made of sheet metal. You were so generous and accepting. I will always vote for my country to help it's neighbors. I wish it were easier for you to make a better life for you and your family. Let's fight for a change. To all you bastards out there in the government and law enforcement that racial profile... shame on you! How many white men hid behind the cloak of clergy and the doors of churches and molest our innocent. How many white corporate and government officials are caught in sex and money scandals? Stop it! Stop the bullshit! Get over yourself.
The American people need to stand up for what's right for the world... not push their own agenda. How long before people wake up and smell the demise of our own race before they make a change?

Thursday, April 17, 2008

There is a war going on for your mind

Peace is what everyone wants. Peace is what everyone is talking about.
It doesn't seem like anybody really wants it. It's just a bunch of hot air.
What everybody wants is a Piece. A piece of me, a piece of you.
See it their way...
peacepeacepeacepeacpeacepeacepeacepeacepeacepeacepeacepeace
piecepiecepiecepiecepiecepiecepiecepiecepiecepiecepiecepiecepiece
peacepeacepeacepeacpeacepeacepeacepeacepeacepeacepeacepeace
piecepiecepiecepiecepiecepiecepiecepiecepiecepiecepiecepiecepiece


Quit talking about it and do it already!

"Be the change you want to see in the world" Ghandi

Monday, March 17, 2008

vacation...

So ready for vacation.... I'm burned out. Spent. Exhausted. I can barely think to spell my own damn name. I'm driving my husband up the wall. I don't want to get away, I just want my house to myself, do what I want and not have to follow someone else's schedule. Ready!!

And by the way... I did name this about being honest. So here's my honest tidbit of the day. I'm a grown woman. I don't need someone telling me what to do or how to do it. I'm also not a moron. I know more than you think I do. I just don't like confrontation, so I make you think you are right because it's easier than cleaning up the mess that you cause when you blow up because I stood up for myself. So back off. Yeah, I'm a woman. I know. I act crazy sometimes, but everyone does because we're human. So, stop acting so goddamn self-righteous and face your own fuckin' demons not mine. I will handle my own, you handle yours. All I ask is a little appreciation and some respect. There I said it. It's more than what I could ever put in verbal words. If you read this, I love you more than you will ever know, but I need my space too. So back off a little. And I don't mean allienate me or ignore me. Just stop smothering me in everything you want. If you don't like the way I do things, then do it yourself. If you don't want to do it yourself then shut the hell up and read the beginning of the paragraph. I did tell you not to read this. Didn't I? ;)